Chimney Inspections & Certifications

The National Fire Protection Association recommends that homeowners have their chimney inspected at least once a year. The Chimney Doctors NOVA, Inc. offers chimney inspections as well as chimney certifications. Your chimney is an essential heating source for your entire home, which is why you should always pay special attention to its maintenance. We're here to help keep your chimney and fireplace in top working order, all year.

Request an Inspection

Chimney Inspection Levels

The National Fire Protection Association's 211 (Standard for Chimneys, Fireplaces, Vents and Solid Fuel Burning Appliances) is the standard upon which chimney sweeps base their services. This standard classifies chimney and venting system inspections into three levels: Level I, Level II or Level III.

Level I Inspection

This inspection is recommended when the chimney and venting system is easily accessible and when the homeowner is planning to maintain its current use. In general, this is the level of inspection performed in most homes. In a Level I inspection, a certified chimney sweep verifies that the chimney structure is sound and that the chimney is free of obstructions and combustible deposits, such as creosote.

Level II Inspection

The addition of a new home heating appliance or a change in the type of fuel a homeowner is burning requires a Level II inspection. This inspection level is also required upon the sale or transfer of a property, or after an operating malfunction or external event that is likely to have caused damage to the chimney. The scope of a Level II inspection includes that of the Level I inspection plus the inspection of accessible portions of the attics, crawl spaces and basements. It may also include a performance test such as a smoke test or a pressure test, and possibly an interior chimney video inspection if recommended by the chimney sweep.

Level III Inspection

When a Level I or Level II inspection suggests a hidden hazard and the evaluation cannot be performed without access to concealed areas, a Level III inspection is recommended. This type of inspection confirms the proper construction and condition of concealed portions of the chimney structure and the flue. Level III inspections are generally necessary when investigating an incident that has caused damage to a chimney or building, or where a hazard is detected and suspected. Both the Chimney Safety Institute of America and the National Fire Protection Association recommend yearly chimney inspections to help prevent fire and carbon monoxide poisonings.

Chimney Certifications

Are you buying, selling, or renting a home? For the sale of a property, rental agreement, or for insurance purposes, we offer chimney inspections and certifications. We work with home buyers, home sellers, and Realtors. The inspection is pass/fail and includes recommended repairs, if needed.

The Chimney Doctor NOVA

Call The Pros.

We Make House Calls.

Connect With Us